Agoraphobia: Trapped

Alyssa H
2 min readMay 28, 2021

--

The need to contribute to the mental health community is one of my passion. I always felt like I should try to write a blog dedicated to mental health. Oh, the process.

My recent significant struggle with panic attacks started happening at work which was always a neutral place. Those panic attacks triggered my agoraphobia. Now I am looking for a job online because I cannot leave my house; all this anxiety has crept up.

My recent significant struggle with panic attacks started happening at work which was always a neutral place. Those panic attacks triggered my agoraphobia. Now I am looking for a job online because I cannot leave my house; all this anxiety has crept up.

I start shaking when confronted with the thought of me leaving my house or having to talk to someone. I lock myself away in my bedroom and hide. Curling up, I wait for night to come.

My family doesn’t understand, and I certainly don’t. They suffer right along with me. Most days, I don’t want to see them because I’m afraid of what they think of me. An endless cycle of fear, dread, and grief is all that remains. I know my family loves me, and they support me.

More information and support for agoraphobia are needed now in 2021 amidst the pandemic. Agoraphobia symptoms are on the rise, but the support people need may not out be there.

--

--

Alyssa H
0 Followers

Hi I’m Alyssa. This is my little blog dedicated to mental health. Mental health effects me and my family. I would like a open conversation about it. Thanks